PictureSo, there is one huge advantage of going to my dentist. It’s not they way they clean my teeth or that they give me a free toothbrush and floss…it’s the table after table of magazines fanned out in the waiting room! I’m not kidding, everything from Woman’s World to Reader’s Digest. It makes my waiting time actually enjoyable. I don’t subscribe to any magazines and seldom purchase them ( I just can’t justify the expense) however, for this assignment, I thought I would browse for a while. Because I am a foodie, I am always drawn to food magazines. I picked up the April 2013 issue of Food Network Magazine.

The Food Network Magazine is a monthly gourmet food entertainment consumer magazine that made its debut in 2008. Although it started out as just a magazine sold in stores, it is now available through a subscription. It is estimated that this magazine reaches 3.5 million people and has a total circulation of almost 1,500,000 readers. This magazine, as with any other magazine, has the ability of reaching their target market because of selectivity. Selectivity is the main advantage of using magazines as an advertising medium. Other reasons advertisers would choose to advertise in magazines include: reproduction quality, creative flexibility, permanence, and prestige. Permanence is very important for  advertisers. Unlike TV and radio, which are characterized as having a fleeting message,  magazines have a long life span.

I chose this Clinique  ad for my blog assignment for a few reasons. First, this ad’s reproduction quality helps make this ad visually appealing. The high quality paper, bright colors, and contrasting white background give it a dramatic effect. Second, the creative use of bleed pages also grabs your attention. I think it’s clever how this ad specifically , of wrapping Clinique’s Chubby Stick Shadow in colored paper, to look like candy, fits so well with  Food Network Magazine. What a perfect way of delivering a message of Clinique products in a food magazine to their target market. Third, I also think Clinique really capitalizes on the permanence factor. Especially in a food magazine full of recipes and cooking tips, would a reader keep their magazine as reference.

As I mentioned previously, there are many things that make this ad work. I think this ad breaks through the clutter and draws you in, well, at least it drew me in. The creativity of this ad in this particular magazine work so well together at delivering a message to their target market. I believe the target market, in this case, is me. So I would have to say that Clinique, through Food Network Magazine, was effective at getting my attention and a possible sale.